Day trip to Sefrou

Sefrou and Bhalil Excursion

Start Fez
Finish Fez
Days 1
Theme Heritage & Culture
From $125 USD
Group Min 4
Group Max 24
Map

On our daily departure to Sefrou from Fez tours, you will travel in a small group exploring antiquity at the foothills of the Atlas Mountains southeast of Fez. Visit the prehistoric village of Bhalil exploring some old troglodytes that sheltered humans and animals for thousands of years. Still, today serve the purpose as dwellings to many families native to this prehistoric village.

Sefrou, a city that predates Fez by a thousand years, as an old saying often used among the natives of Sefrou "from the city of Sefrou to the Village of Fez". Sefrou served in antiquity as a caravan outpost. Where goods were traded with Mediterranean Merchants from the Phoenician time. Trans-Saharan Camel Caravans could only go as far as Sefrou to unload their Burden. Mules of Sefrou Merchants take care of the rest of the trip as they were made to cross mountains to the Ports on the Mediterranean shore such as Melilla and Nakor. Sefrou reach its hay days when Jews settled in Morocco 1200 BC. They were great traders. Most of the Berber tribes around converted to Judaism like Ait Youssi, Ait Ishaq, and Ait Yacob. Sefrou continued to play a great role in Caravan trade till the turn of the 20th century with the arrival of the French who completely changed the map of Moroccan trade, created Casablanca, So Fez and Sefrou became history. This overland tour to Sefrou from Fez is a great cultural and historic encounter for those who like ancient history, primitive mountain life, breathtaking landscapes, and most importantly Jewish Heritage in Morocco from antiquity to our modern time. This historical, mild hiking journey and Heritage day trip to Sefrou and Bhalil from Fez is a daily departure with a small group. Our cultural tour can also be customized as a private excursion for overland hiking day in the Atlas Mountains with an active cycling tour to enjoy natural and explore some landscapes beyond the scope of just cultural tours. We will provide you with state of the art bicycles and a knowledgeable cycling guide. This departing tour from Fez to Sefrou and Bhalil among other Berber villages is a budget hand-picked tour, affordable for all kinds of curious travelers. Enjoy these tour activities from Fez to Sefrou in most authentic and environmental settings. We are a responsible, nature-friendly tour operator in Fez and around sustaining our community and custodians of eco-tourism in Morocco. Join our daily overland expedition from Fez to Sefrou and Bhalil made just for you.

An Adventure as lovely as it gets

  • This short adventure Trip exploring ancient history, hiking and trekking in the Atlas Mountains is designed for travelers who like to discover the deep layers of Moroccan culture. This tour opens opportunities for active travelers to immerse in the culture by visiting ancient cities and rural areas and places around Fez, not accessible to mass tourists. On this short expedition, natural landscapes, tribal markets, private homes, and nomad camps are all in your reach. This cultural short tour discovery from Fez is beyond any National Geographic Expeditions.

  • Your Morocco adventure short vacation from Fez will take on a discovery trip beyond the scope of just active travel. Enjoy a day excursion around the Atlas Mountains exploring Sefrou and Bhalil, explore Berber natural sites, hike Mountain trails like an explorer out of reach to average tourists who are missing on Fez and its surrounding. have a festive Moroccan lunch in the ancient market place of Sefrou. Enjoy baked fresh bread and tasty dishes like a Moroccan. Experience the true and genuine Moroccan hospitality like a Moroccan.

  • Encounter in this Cultural excursion from Fez, Berber towns and villages out of this world in most authentic and natural setting where you will feel certain that nothing is made for tourists. The walled medina of Sefrou, a rich book of historical and architectural remnants from the Phoenician time, not to forget the rich Jewish Heritage that this city is known for. Take a hiking expedition from the most impressive and authentic old city in the world. Fez is unique. The vicinity of fez by the Atlas Mountains and Berber villages are a world of marvels yet to be discovered. Come and share with us the beauty of Sefrou and Bhalil history and culture.

A year around tour roaster works for you?

  • This one day tour from Fez is running even in Ramadan which will take place from 8 May to 7 June 2019. This is a special time to explore Morocco with a different perspective unique to this sacred month. The Ambiance is unique. The schedule might be a little different, mornings are a bit at a slow pace. Markets and streets entertainments could not be better. All monuments are open to visit, including synagogues for those who visit Sefrou and Bhalil for Jewish Heritage. Join a small group excursion to discover the environs of Fez.

  • On this short trip of one day exploring Berber villages and nomadic settlements visiting the Medina of Sefrou and the troglodyte dwellings of Bhalil your guide will take the easiest alleys to visit these two cities completely nestled on the foothills of the Atlas Mountains. If you need assistance to walk up we can provide you with a mule so you will not miss this experience in your excursion to Sefrou and Bhalil.

  • Best cost and best services guaranteed compare with all other tour planners in Morocco. Top notch guides to give the best day trip to Sefrou and Bhalil experience.

Gallery

Pricing & Availability

Departing Finishing Seats Total in USD
Mon 12 Oct 2020 Tue 13 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 13 Oct 2020 Wed 14 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 14 Oct 2020 Thu 15 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 15 Oct 2020 Fri 16 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 16 Oct 2020 Sat 17 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 17 Oct 2020 Sun 18 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 18 Oct 2020 Mon 19 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 19 Oct 2020 Tue 20 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 20 Oct 2020 Wed 21 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 21 Oct 2020 Thu 22 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 22 Oct 2020 Fri 23 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 23 Oct 2020 Sat 24 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 24 Oct 2020 Sun 25 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 25 Oct 2020 Mon 26 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 26 Oct 2020 Tue 27 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 27 Oct 2020 Wed 28 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 28 Oct 2020 Thu 29 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 29 Oct 2020 Fri 30 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 30 Oct 2020 Sat 31 Oct 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 31 Oct 2020 Sun 1 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 1 Nov 2020 Mon 2 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 2 Nov 2020 Tue 3 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 3 Nov 2020 Wed 4 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 4 Nov 2020 Thu 5 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 5 Nov 2020 Fri 6 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 6 Nov 2020 Sat 7 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 7 Nov 2020 Sun 8 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 8 Nov 2020 Mon 9 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 9 Nov 2020 Tue 10 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 10 Nov 2020 Wed 11 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 11 Nov 2020 Thu 12 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 12 Nov 2020 Fri 13 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 13 Nov 2020 Sat 14 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 14 Nov 2020 Sun 15 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 15 Nov 2020 Mon 16 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 16 Nov 2020 Tue 17 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 17 Nov 2020 Wed 18 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 18 Nov 2020 Thu 19 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 19 Nov 2020 Fri 20 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 20 Nov 2020 Sat 21 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 21 Nov 2020 Sun 22 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 22 Nov 2020 Mon 23 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 23 Nov 2020 Tue 24 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 24 Nov 2020 Wed 25 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 25 Nov 2020 Thu 26 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 26 Nov 2020 Fri 27 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 27 Nov 2020 Sat 28 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 28 Nov 2020 Sun 29 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 29 Nov 2020 Mon 30 Nov 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 30 Nov 2020 Tue 1 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 1 Dec 2020 Wed 2 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 2 Dec 2020 Thu 3 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 3 Dec 2020 Fri 4 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 4 Dec 2020 Sat 5 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 5 Dec 2020 Sun 6 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 6 Dec 2020 Mon 7 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 7 Dec 2020 Tue 8 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 8 Dec 2020 Wed 9 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 9 Dec 2020 Thu 10 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 10 Dec 2020 Fri 11 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 11 Dec 2020 Sat 12 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 12 Dec 2020 Sun 13 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 13 Dec 2020 Mon 14 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 14 Dec 2020 Tue 15 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 15 Dec 2020 Wed 16 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 16 Dec 2020 Thu 17 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 17 Dec 2020 Fri 18 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 18 Dec 2020 Sat 19 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 19 Dec 2020 Sun 20 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 20 Dec 2020 Mon 21 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 21 Dec 2020 Tue 22 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 22 Dec 2020 Wed 23 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 23 Dec 2020 Thu 24 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 24 Dec 2020 Fri 25 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Fri 25 Dec 2020 Sat 26 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sat 26 Dec 2020 Sun 27 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Sun 27 Dec 2020 Mon 28 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Mon 28 Dec 2020 Tue 29 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Tue 29 Dec 2020 Wed 30 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Wed 30 Dec 2020 Thu 31 Dec 2020 Available $95 INQUIRY
Thu 31 Dec 2020 Fri 1 Jan 2021 Available $95 INQUIRY

Itinerary

Our tour guide will meet you at the lobby of your hotel early in the morning to start your day trip to Sefrou and Bhalil exploring the marvels of these ancient cities. Visit the tribe of Ait Youssi in the slopes of the Atlas Mountains South East of the city of Fez. Enjoy little hiking in the Massif of Kandar overlooking the ancient city of Sefrou. Visit the village of Azzaba then Sefrou. Your tour leader will take on a walking tour in the Medina of Sefrou to explore the medieval streets where craftsmen work their local traditional products to satisfy the needs of the inhabitant of Sefrou. Lunch will be in a traditional restaurant near the gate of Bab el Maqam. Later you will trek to Bhalil troglodyte village. Visit the village with your guide then enjoy a tea ceremony with a Berber family inside of a troglodyte that sheltered human beings for thousands of years. In the late afternoon, we will head back to Fez. We will drop you off in your hotel after you have achieved a day trip to ancient outposts in the vicinity of Fez. Other tour activities in Fez are available for the evening like a traditional Hammam, Henna Tattooing, dinner show, etc...

Inclusions

  • Transportation in 4X4 vehicles or minivan
  • Services of local guides
  • Hotel taxes and service charges
  • Lunch in a Moroccan Restaurant